Election Results

Election Results

Two men were left standing in the four-way Republican primary race for Precinct 4 Commissioner following Tuesday’s ballot count. Nicholas Thomas and David Pearson will go head-to-head in a special runoff election on Tuesday, May 27, to determine which candidate will get the GOP nod for the seat vacated by Lynard Schafer.

While the two men were in a dead heat following early voting with 22 votes each, Thomas drew the largest support overall with 84 votes, or 43.75 percent of all ballots cast, to Pearson’s 51 votes. Because Thomas lacked a simple majority of 50 percent plus one vote, the contest will go to a runoff between him and Pearson.

Candidate Barry Sims was the third-highest vote-getter with 37 and Matt LeFever attracted 20 votes overall.

Other local winners in the March 4 Republican primary—and in lieu of Democratic challengers, the presumptive winners in this fall’s general election—were incumbents County Judge George Briant, Precinct 2 County Commissioner Ed Culver, County/District Clerk Lisa Johnson and Justice of the Peace Larry Dunnam, and newly-elected County Treasurer Kay Smallwood.

District Judge Steve Emmert was uncontested in his bid for the Republican nomination and likewise faces no general election challengers.

Hemphill County Republican Party Chairman Mike Rollins was also re-elected to his office without a challenge.

Democratic Party Chairwoman Jenny Brown did not put her name on the ballot, and indicated last night that she intended to step down. Should that position remain unfilled, Hemphill County will be unable to conduct a party primary in the next general election cycle.

Only 624 voters participated in Tuesday’s primary voting in Hemphill County, accounting for just under 28 percent of the county’s 2,229 registered voters. As unimpressive as that number was, and despite an impressive number of contested races at the top of the ballot, statewide turnout in Republican primary voting was less than 10 percent, while only 3.72 percent of Texas’ registered voters cast ballots in the Democratic primary.

For more information, check our E-Edition.

Other election results can be found  at www.sos.state.tx.us



Friday, March 28: First day to apply for ballot by mail

Monday, April 28: Last day to register to vote

Monday, May 19: First day of early voting

Friday, May 16: Last day to apply for ballot by mail

Friday, May 23: Last day of early voting