Early voting begins Monday in May 7 municipal election

May 7 CandidatesEarly voting in the May 7 election to fill seats on the city council and school, hospital and water board begins this Monday, April 25, and ends on Tuesday, May 3. Early ballots must be cast in each entity’s business office during regular business hours.

For the first time in recent history, all four political subdivisions involved will have contested races. Fifteen candidates have filed for ten open seats on the city council and school, hospital and water boards, compelling all four entities to hold elections this year.

All four entities have agreed to hold consolidated elections on May 7. Election day balloting will be conducted in the Canadian High School foyer.

Vying for election to three open seats on the city council are incumbents Bob Gober and Lisa Ayala, as well as Jeremy Dunn, Blake Beedy and Gary Prater. Incumbents Larry Gatlin, Kyle Northcott and Larry Smith are candidates for re-election to three seats on the Canadian ISD board of trustees, and Bradley Flynn’s candidacy makes it a four-man race. Jonilyn Hanes is challenging for one of two open seats on the hospital board, along with incumbents Karen Gullett and Sharon Carr. Likewise, incumbent Beth Sturgeon is in a three-way race with Jim Leatherman and Spencer Hanes for two open seats on the water district board.

Anyone wishing to apply for a ballot by mail must do so at the appropriate business office by 5 pm on Tuesday, April 26.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: A 10-page Q&A with the candidates was published in the April 21 edition of The Canadian Record. Copies of that edition are also available at The Record office upon request. When you cast your ballot, make yours an informed vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *